Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner



Use your pdf converter to make your pdf files easy! You can now buy software that makes converting pdf to doc possible! Did you know you can even convert pdf to word?
Home Page

Bloglines

1906
CelebrateStadium
2006


OfficeZealot

Scobleizer

TechRepublic

AskWoody

SpyJournal












Subscribe here
Add to 

My Yahoo!
This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Host your Web site with PureHost!


eXTReMe Tracker
  Web http://www.klippert.com



  Saturday, October 14, 2017 – Permalink –

Hardcopy Relationships

Document database


When you're documenting your database applications, you may want to include the same visual diagram of your table relationships that's available through the Relationships window.
In Access 2000 thru 2003, this is easy. Simply display the Relationships window as usual and then choose File>Print Relationships from the menu bar. Doing so displays a report preview that you can then print or save.

In 2007-13, to just print out a report, find Database tools on the Ribbon and click on Database Documenter.

Relationships are at the bottom of the All Object Types tab




See all Topics

Labels: , , , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:17 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Sunday, August 06, 2017 – Permalink –

Highlight the Current Control

Code vs. property


Many users have trouble knowing which text box on a form they're currently working with. One way to make it clear for users is to highlight the current one, for example, with a yellow background.
Access allows you to do this with conditional formatting, but you can also get a similar result using code.

To do so, create a new module and add the following code:

Function Highlight(Stat As String) As Integer
Dim ctrl As Control
On Error Resume Next
Set ctrl = Screen.ActiveControl
If Stat = "GotFocus" Then
ctrl.BackColor = 65535
ElseIf Stat = "LostFocus" Then
ctrl.BackColor = 16777215
End If
End Function

Save and close the module, then open the form you want to apply the highlighting to in Design view.
Click the Code button and insert

Highlight("GotFocus")

in each text box control's GotFocus event procedure. Likewise, add

Highlight("LostFocus")

to each text box's LostFocus event procedure.
When you've finished,save the changes, close the VBE, and switch to Form view.

When you tab to a field, it's shaded yellow. When you tab away from the field, its background is restored to white.


See all Topics

Labels: , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:13 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Thursday, May 11, 2017 – Permalink –

Properties Report

Record of Records



If you would like a report that includes all of the properties, relationships and permissions of the objects in your database, go to Tools>Analyze and choose Documenter...

Access will create a VERY detailed report.

Access Documentation


Ezy Documenter



See all Topics

Labels: , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:12 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Thursday, May 04, 2017 – Permalink –

Define Relationships by Keyboard

It's not a drag


If you've played with Access, you know that you can create relationships by dragging fields from one table to another.

There is another way to do it using just the keyboard.

I don't know why you would do it this way, but let's assume you lent your mouse to your brother-in-law for the week-end. (?)


  1. Close any open tables.

  2. Use F11 to switch to the Database window.

  3. Press ALT+T to select the Tools menu, and then press R to open the Relationships window.

  4. If the Show Table dialog box does not appear, press ALT+R to select the Relationships menu, and then press T to open the Show Table dialog box.

  5. In the Show Table dialog box, select the first table that you want to relate, and then press ENTER to add it to the Relationships window.

  6. Repeat step 5 for any other tables you want to relate, and then press ALT+C to close the Show Table dialog box.

  7. Press ALT+R to select the Relationships menu, and then press R to open the Edit Relationships dialog box.

  8. Press ALT+N to open the Create New dialog box.

  9. In the Left Table Name box, select the name of the table that contains the primary key.

  10. In the Right Table Name box, select the name of the table that contains the foreign key.

  11. In the Left Column Name box, select the primary key field, and in the Right Column Name box, select the foreign key field.

  12. Press ENTER.

  13. In the Edit Relationships dialog box, use the arrow keys to make sure that the two columns contain the field names you want.

  14. Press ALT+C to create the relationship.
Support.Microsoft.com:
Define relationships by using the keyboard  



See all Topics

Labels: , , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:20 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Wednesday, May 03, 2017 – Permalink –

Font Properties Plus

Everything you need to know


To embed a font in a document or slide show so it can be displayed on any other machine, the font must support that action. The standard Windows properties statement does not show all the needed information.

The bottom of this illustration shows the standard information shown when you right-click a font file, and choose properties. The two views at the top are what appear when the Microsoft Font properties extension is installed.


Font Properties

If you right click on a font file in Windows its basic properties are displayed. The Font properties extension adds several new property tabs to this properties dialog box. These include information relating to font origination and copyright, the type sizes to which hinting and smoothing are applied, and the code pages supported by extended character sets.

It also will tell you if the font can be embedded and/or edited in a document.



Protected
The font may not be embedded, copied, or modified. If you use a protected font in a document and if the document is opened on a computer that does not have the font installed on it, a font substitution occurs. Word substitutes the closest font available on the computer for the missing protected font.
Print/Preview
The font is embedded and temporarily loaded on the target computer. Documents that contain print/preview fonts must be opened read-only, and no edits are stored in the document. Embedding a font of this nature has the least impact on file size increase.
Editable
The font behaves just like the print/preview fonts, except that you may also apply the font to other text in the same document.
Installable
The font is installed on the target computer permanently when you open the document. This allows you to use the new fonts as if you installed the fonts directly into Windows yourself. This type of embedded font has the greatest impact on file size because the entire font or fonts are included with the document.


Versionand Features tabs
The Version tab includes version and date information. The Features tab describes the font in terms of number of glyphs, number of kerning pairs, the possible existence of a euro symbol and the presence of embedded bitmaps within the font.

Linkstab
If a font doesn't include a Web site URL, but does include a 'vendor ID code' a link will be provided to Microsoft's font vendor database.

Font properties extension, version 2.3
(32-bit only)


See all Topics

Labels: , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:51 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Sunday, July 24, 2016 – Permalink –

Control Access Text Alignment

Distribute Text Evenly Within Controls


When you add form or report controls, the Text Align property defaults to General setting: characters align to the left while numbers and dates align to the right.

When you set up controls to act as headings or titles, you can achieve interesting visual results by changing the Text Align setting to Distribute (This is called Justify in Word).

This setting distributes characters within the control evenly to span its entire width.

If you apply this setting to a textbox control, the alignment switches to Left alignment when you click inside the control to allow for easy data entry.
General (Default)
The text aligns to the left; numbers and dates align to the right.
Left
The text, numbers, and dates align to the left.
Center
The text, numbers, and dates are centered.
Right
The text, numbers, and dates align to the right.
Distribute
The text, numbers, and dates are evenly distributed.



See all Topics

Labels: , , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:14 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Tuesday, December 22, 2015 – Permalink –

Change Properties in Form View

Alterations on the run


As you work with a form, you will, sometimes, find controls would benefit from minor tweaking. You may want to change the color of a text box, change the font that's used, or remove scroll bars.

You may have been told switch to Design view to make changes. However, you can display the property sheets for a control while you're in Form view.

To do so, click the Properties on the View menu, Right-click, or press [Alt][Enter].
As in Design view, the displayed properties relate to the control that is selected on the form. The property changes you make are reflected on the fly.
You will be prompted to resave your form when you close it.


See all Topics

Labels: , , , , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:28 AM

Comments: Post a Comment


  Saturday, October 03, 2015 – Permalink –

Alphabetize by One Field or the Other

If one is missing, use the other


Let's say you have a database that has the company name and a contacts name.

In some cases the CompanyName field is empty. If that happens, you want to continue the alpha sort using the contact's LastName.

To do this, you need to create an extra query field to provide the sort, using the NZ() function to replace the contents of one field for null values in another.

(Nz(variant, [valueifnull])
  1. Select the Queries, and then click "Create query in Design view".
  2. Choose the table you want to sort, click Add.
  3. Click Close.
  4. Drag down all the fields you want to display in your form, including the two separate fields you want to alphabetize.
  5. Insert a new column on the left side of the QBE grid.
  6. In the Field cell, enter the expression
    NZ([CompanyName],[LastName])
  7. Select Ascending for the Sort option.

When you run the query, if CompanyName is null (empty — no entry), the NZ() function uses the contents in LastName instead.

Here's another way to do it:





See all Topics

Labels: , , , , , , ,


<Doug Klippert@ 3:46 AM

Comments: Post a Comment